It’s July 10th Already

Yes, it’s July 10th, 2009.

Here’s an update on Jess-life in bullet points:

The Pais Project chapter of my life is over.  The Pais year ended June 13th with a pleasant grad ceremony, I said goodbye to the friends who have returned home and have consequently had quite a lazy month since.  The year ended brilliantly as we had a whole bunch of students from the school come join us at our youth nights (hip hop abs or dodgeball!), we love to see students having fun!

I have decided to stay in Canada until further notice.  I’m not sure what I’m going to do yet, but I hope to volunteer at the local school and maybe run a film class in my spare time.  We ended up building a great relationship with Cariboo Hill Secondary School, and the principle is open for more fun stuff to happen.

As of today, I am officially a Starbucks employee.  I have given in my SIN, and can receive my free cup of coffee when I turn up on Monday, July 20th for my first day.  I’m moving back to the westside of Vancouver where I lived last year, the Starbucks is up on Dunbar @ 29th.

Tomorrow I am going on a true Canadian experience and I can’t wait….!! I’m going to camp.  Oh yes, I’m going to spend the next week up at Anvil Island (Up Howe Sound – which is up the coast a little from West Vancouver)  I’m helping out with the work crew which should be fun.

I’ve been reading Yes Man by Danny Wallace and it’s so funny.  It’s a must read for any british people who are living away from home, it reminds me of home and the british ways and makes me laugh so much! I do love being British!!  Ah man…now I want some fish and chips.  I’ve also been reading Prayer by Philip Yancey – it’s interesting, it’s making me think about what I really believe especially in regards to prayer….does it make a difference??

Ok people, I think that’ll do for now.

Leave a comment